An Ode to Bailey

Hello virtual friends! I know I have been MIA for quite sometime now…turns out juggling wedding planning and a full time teaching job doesn’t leave much room for blogging. But since I have a few extra seconds to breathe at the moment, I figured it’s about time for a post. And a pretty important one at that. At least to me it is…

Recently, I lost a pet. Now, I know for some it’s very hard to comprehend why this would even deserve a post but if you have pets, especially in the form of dogs, I’m sure you get it. So I wanted to pay tribute to one of my best friends for the past 13 years, my dog Bailey.

An Ode to Bailey

About six months ago, we realized that our family pet, Bailey, was rapidly aging. Looking back now, it seems like he changed over night. One day he was the happy, funny, energetic “puppy” that was still full of so much youth and life and the next day…well, not so much. He began developing little health problems every day. One day we noticed a lump on his leg, the next an issue with his eye, the day after a problem with his walking. And for the next few months, he just didn’t seem right. He wasn’t himself. Being the person that I am, I tried my best to turn a blind eye to it. I was hopeful. A miracle would occur and he would soon come out of this funk as the Bailey we used to know – the happy, funny, energetic “puppy”. My parents would say things like “this might be it” or “we should begin to say our goodbyes”. I would ignore them. Thinking to myself, they are being negative. This can’t be the end. Bailey is our family. This is just not it! He will be around for my wedding. He’s going to make it to next year. He’ll be around next Christmas. This just cannot be the end.

But they were right. Things just getting worse and worse for poor old Bailey. No longer a puppy, but a tired, sick old dog. He would lay in the same spot all day. He would fall down every time he moved. You could see the pain in his eyes. It wasn’t easy to watch. It wasn’t easy to accept. I kept praying for a miracle but then it happened. I came home one chilly rainy afternoon in April to find my mother and sister outside in the backyard with Bailey. He fell down and would not move. No matter what they tried to do, he would not budge. They tried moving him themselves but every time they touched him, he would cry. We worked together to get Bailey onto a blanket and into the house. Once we got him inside the house, he stayed there and still would not move. A call to the vet was made..and the recommendation came that it was time. He is old, he is sick, he is in pain…13 years is a good amount of time for a dog…he will be in a better place…All the things that are told to you when someone you love passes away were told to us that night. I guess it is meant to be comforting. I didn’t feel comforted. I felt angry. I felt sad. What right do we have to decide this? But I knew, deep down, it was the right thing to do.

We stayed with Bailey to the very end. It was hard to witness. Looking back, I guess that’s why I took it as hard as I did…because I saw it, and it’s not an easy thing to see. But I’m glad that we were there for him. He looked calm. He looked peaceful. He looked like he didn’t feel any more pain. We said our goodbyes and quietly went our separate ways. I cried for two days straight. I felt heartbroken. I felt lost. I felt like there was a piece of me missing. As the weeks went on, it got easier. It’s still weird going home and not having him greet me at the door. It’s still weird not having him come sit next to me at dinner, hoping I’ll pass him some food under the table. I think it will always be a little strange, a little too quiet without him but I know he had a happy life because we made sure of it.

Every day with Bailey was a happy one. He was a good dog. He made us laugh. He was ALWAYS there for us. He was a member of the family – like a canine brother! I will always cherish the memories that our family had with him and I look forward to making memories with a new family pet in the future.

Some people aren’t “animal people”. They will never have a pet and I guess that’s okay. But I think they’re missing out. I encourage everyone to get a dog at some point in their life. You can not imagine the joy and happiness these little furry friends bring to you. When the world turns their back on you – you can bet that your dog will be by your side. Bailey was always by my side. And I will always be grateful to him for that.

Rest In Peace Bailey. We will miss you more than you know!FullSizeRender(1)

One thought on “An Ode to Bailey

  1. Thank you for sharing this story. Losing a pet if a very difficult time. Keep his memories close.

Leave a comment